Browser cookies have their advantages. For example, thanks to cookies, a site can remember your preferences and have things such as font size, theme, and preferred language. But they do have their dark side, such as tracking you online. Or if they are not adequately secured, they can be hacked, and someone could even gain unauthorized access to your accounts. These are why many users prefer to set Chrome to clear cookies on exit, just in case they forget. Keep reading to see how to erase your Chrome cookies when you close all the windows.
How to Set Chrome to Clear Cookies on Exit
As soon as you enable Chrome’s settings, your cookies will be cleared as soon as you close all the Windows. The clearing cookies feature on Chrome is an excellent option if you want to increase your security but need to remember to clear the browser cookies, especially when you’re in a hurry.
To get started, open Chrome and click on the three dots at the top right. Go to Settings, followed by the Privacy and Security option on the left. Choose the Cookies and other site data option. Scroll down until you come across the Clear Cookies and Site data when you close all windows option.
Toggle it on. And you’re good to go. You’ll see a message below the option that says that you’ll be signed out of Chrome when this option is enabled. That’s all there is to it. If you ever change your mind and want to turn this feature off, follow the same steps to turn it on and toggle it off.
Clearing your browser cookies is a great way to stay safe online. But other more important things can get in the way of you remembering to do this frequently. But, thanks to the Chrome option you can enable, the browser can clear the cookies for you when you close all the windows. The downside is that you’ll be signed out of Chrome. But at least no one will gain unauthorized access. Are you going to keep the option on permanently? Share your thoughts in the comments below, and remember to share the article with others on social media.