Learn what happens to the messages after permanently deleting your Facebook account.
Suppose you plan to delete your Facebook account or want to know how it manages its user data. In that case, you might wonder about the fate of messages after permanently deleting the Facebook account.
One of the top features of Facebook is messaging. People use this social media to communicate with their friends and acquaintances. As many of us share personal and sensitive information in our Facebook conversations, knowing what happens to those after we delete the Facebook account is crucial.
What Happens to Messages When You Permanently Delete Facebook
All the posts, images, videos, and messages you post or share using Facebook are stored in the Facebook servers under your account. When you permanently delete your Facebook account, all the associated data, including the sent and received messages, will be removed from the Facebook servers.
It means these messages won’t be accessible to you or anyone else on the platform. However, you need to remember that deleting your Facebook account does not necessarily mean that all copies of your messages will get removed completely.
Every messaging action involves two parties, and the other parties of your conversation may still have copies of the messages you sent to them. Hence, they can read those messages even if you delete your Facebook account.
To permanently get rid of all copies of the messages, they need to manually delete the messages or the entire conversation with you or delete their Facebook account as well. Since you initiate the account deletion process, you can change your mind within 30 days. Till that time, Facebook keeps your data on the server.
Then, the messages and all other data associated with your Facebook account are removed permanently. Nevertheless, to delete everything you have posted, Facebook might take up to 90 days from the beginning of the deletion process. The good thing is that no one using Facebook can access the information now.
If you have a business account on Facebook, there might be some exceptions to these rules. For example, Facebook might store your messages for a more extended time for compliance purposes. Moreover, users, like doctors or lawyers, with a legal obligation to keep their messages. They can request that Facebook keep them for extended periods.
Now that you know what happens to messages when you permanently delete your Facebook account, you can take the necessary steps accordingly. If you want to remove all the sent messages, it is impossible once the recipient has seen them.
So, if you plan to delete the Facebook account to delete the messages you have sent or received, you can discard the idea. Or, if you have decided to delete your account from Facebook, proceed with it anyway. You can stop worrying about the messages because you can do nothing about it.
If you like this article, make sure to share it with your friends. To share any thoughts with us, use the comment section. Up next is the difference between Facebook deactivate vs. delete.