You gave ProtonMal a try and used its helpful features. For example, you used filters and customized your inbox to provide it with your personal touch. But, despite all its features, you think the time has come to part ways. You’re ready to delete your account. The good news is that erasing your ProtonMail account is fast and easy. Even if you change your mind after deleting it, you still have some time to recover your account.
How to Erase Your ProtonMail Account
Some users may want to erase their ProtonMail account to register with the same username again. Before you proceed to erase your account, you must be aware that ProtonMail will not let you see the same username again. Once you create the account, you can’t change it. If that’s your goal, you can always upgrade to premium to change the domain.
You’ll have the chance to combine both accounts but keep in mind that the data with secondary accounts will be lost. But, if you’re sure that you want to erase your account, you’ll need to sign into your account. Once you’re in, click on Settings.
In Settings, you’re going to see various options to your left. From those options, click on the Account and password option. Once you’re in, scroll all the way down until you come across the Delete account option.
When you click on the Delete button, ProtonMail will show you a warning of what will happen when you erase your account. The warning says that the deletion is permanent and that you will lose access to all connected services. All your contacts will be deleted. You’ll also see an option to tell them why you’re erasing the account. Click on the dropdown menu and choose from the listed reasons.
If you go through with it and delete your ProtonMail account, it will take two weeks for the process to be done. If you change your mind after clicking on the delete butt, you can still do something about it. You’ll need to contact ProtonMail support as soon as possible to tell them not to erase your account. ProtonMaill will delete your account if it’s inactive for 12 months.
Sometimes things don’t work out with certain email providers. When that happens, there are simple steps you can follow to erase your account and, in this case, your ProtonMail account. Remember that if you erase your account, you can use the same username. So it’s best to take some extra time to think about it and then erase it hope the support team hasn’t erased it yet. Why are you closing your ProtonMail account? Let me know in the comments below, and don’t forget to share the article with others on social media.