If any damages have been caused to your Apple iPhone 6 by downloading unauthorized software or other means, a restore to original factory settings is one way to repair the issues. A full restore will delete all of the data on it, including all pictures, music, contacts and videos. This can easily be done from the phone or using iTunes.
Remember: this removes EVERYTHING from your phone and resets it back to factory settings. If you’re sure you wish to proceed with this, follow the simple steps below. We will discuss restoring your iPhone through iTunes using a backup further down in the article.
To reset your iPhone to factory condition through the device:
- Click on “Settings” and then on “General.”
- Scroll to the bottom of the General tab and click “Reset.”
- Tap “Erase all Content and Settings.”
- Enter your passcode (if there is one) and confirm your reset by tapping “Erase iPhone.”
Your device should give you an estimate as to how long this process will take. Depending on how many apps you have, it could be anywhere from a few moments to an hour or more. During this time, the device is completely inoperable. Once finished, your phone will be like new. This is something you should do if you ever give or sell your phone to someone else as it erases all of your information.
You may wish to simply restore using a backup of your device so that you can keep your settings, email and apps. This process involves a few more steps, but it’s still fairly simple.
Connect your iPhone to your computer with its cable and allow iTunes to launch. You’ll see the name of your phone under “Devices” on the left-hand side of your screen. This lets you know the phone is properly connected and recognized.
If iTunes is set to automatically sync when the device is connected, it will start transferring data right away. This is a very important step so that all newly-added content will be saved, including any songs or apps you’ve purchased and photos you’ve saved. If iTunes does not automatically begin to sync, do so manually now. Press the “Sync” button at the bottom-right corner of the “Summary” tab in iTunes.
Once the sync has completed, head back to the information page within iTunes. In the middle of the main window, you’ll see two buttons. Click on the “Restore” button. Once you have done so, iTunes will warn you that restoring your iPhone to factory settings will erase all media and data. If you’ve already successfully synced, simply click the “Restore” button again to begin the process.
As soon as you click the Restore button the second time, iTunes will automatically start the process. You’ll see several different message on the screen where iTunes tells you things – such as that it is extracting the software needed to restore your device. You’ll see things such as a message that it’s being verified with Apple, as well. Do NOT disconnect your phone from your computer while this process is going.
iTunes will tell you when the phone is finished being restored, but you aren’t done quite yet! You have to restore your settings and sync everything back to the device. Let the iPhone restart itself after restoration. You may then see a message saying it needs to activate – just wait a moment and it will then tell you that process is finished.
On the iTunes screen, you’ll see two options: Set Up as a New iPhone or Restore From a Backup. If you wish to restore your settings, email, contacts and other information, you’ll of course choose the Restore From a Backup option. Select the name of your iPhone from the drop-down menu on the right side of the screen.
Once you click the button, iTunes will restore all settings and files you backed up earlier in this process. It will likely take several minutes – make sure you don’t disconnect the phone during this time. As soon as everything is restored to the iPhone it will restart itself once again. If iTunes is not set to automatically sync, please do so again now manually. This step is critical: it is when all of your files, apps, music and such will be transferred back to the iPhone.
Voila! Your iPhone 6 is now restored to original factory settings and all of your data has been synced back to the phone. You can unhook the phone from the computer and use it now!