Facebook is a social media platform and it is a space in which you can share your posts and pictures, and connect with your friends. In most cases, you may feel free and safe enough to share your information and photos on your profile. This shall then be viewed by your Facebook friends when they view your profile or it may show up in their timeline. However, there are some instances in which you may not want your pictures to be seen by a specific audience. Read on to find out how to prevent a Facebook friend from viewing pictures.
Changing The Facebook Privacy Settings for Photos
There are some circumstances in which you may prefer not to have a Facebook friend view your pictures. This may be when you have someone in your professional circles as a Facebook friend but you prefer to keep your social life away from them. As a security measure, you may also want to have privacy settings on your pictures when you have Facebook friends that you do not know personally. However, it is important to note that your profile picture and your cover photo are public, and thus, it will be visible to all who see your profile. These are the guidelines on how you can prevent a Facebook friend from viewing your pictures:
Edit the privacy settings for your Facebook albums. This can be done by doing the following steps:
- Click on your profile name of you are on the News Feed view.
- Click on Photos, and then select Albums.
- Select the album for which you need privacy.
- On the top right side, click Edit.
- Click on the downward arrow below Privacy.
- You may then select who can view your album.
Additionally, there are instances whereby photos of you may be updated by a friend. These will be viewed by other people, even though you may have removed the tag. Therefore, you may request the one who posted the picture to update their privacy settings or adjust the settings for your timeline and tags to control the friends who can view the picture on your timeline. The following steps can help you to achieve this:
- Click on the downward button at the top right of your Facebook page and click on Settings.
- Select Timeline and Tagging. This appears on the left column.
- On the option ‘Who can see posts you’re tagged in on your timeline?’, click Edit.
- Select the friends that you would like to see the posts and photos that you are tagged in.
You may check your privacy settings as frequently as you would want to so as to control what goes to your timeline and what your Facebook friends may view. Another feature that also helps you to be in control of what appears on your timeline is the timeline review feature. This will enable you to review the posts and photos that you are tagged in before they go to your timeline. You can hide photos from your timeline and thus, your Facebook friends will not be able to see it on your profile.
Prevent unwanted views, present to those you prefer
You can now shake off that feeling of being ‘watched’ while you share your pictures online. Use the guideline on how to prevent a Facebook friend from viewing pictures. Your timeline ough to feel like your safe space and by making use of the Facebook settings and features, you can update the privacy of your photos to suit you best. Share without fear with those you don’t mind seeing your pictures and those who matter the most.