PayPal is a great way to receive and make payments online. But, if you decide to try another service or no longer have the need to use PayPal as a payment method, it’s logical that you’re going to want to erase your PayPal account.
Before closing your PayPal account, there are things to keep in mind. For example, by deleting your PayPal account, you’re canceling all recurring transactions. So, if any transactions haven’t been completed, they will be canceled.
How to Delete Your PayPal Account
If you’re sure that you want to part ways with your PayPal account, you’ll be happy to know that the process won’t take very long. But, before you close your PayPal account, make sure that you retreat any money you may have as available balance.
Once you erase the account, consider it gone. If you ever decide to return to PayPal, you can use the email addy you used the last time. PayPal doesn’t have a rule against using the same email address to create a new account.
Note 1) If you have any PayPal credit pending on your account, you’ll need to contact PayPal to receive that credit. 2) You can’t close your PayPal account using the mobile app. You need to go to the official site using a browser. 3) If you owe money, you can’t close the account until it’s paid off.
Once you’ve taken all the necessary precautions, you can delete your PayPal account by:
- Going to PayPal and signing in.
- Click on the cogwheel at the top right of the page.
- Choose on Close your account (You’ll find it at the bottom left).
- Click on Close account to confirm you want to close the account.
Once your request is accepted, you’ll get an email letting you know that your account is closed. Another thing to keep in mind is that all of your transaction histories will be gone. If that’s something you need to keep, make sure to create a copy of it before you close your account.
It would be a plus if PayPal gave users a period where they could recover there account if they ever changed their minds. For example, that your account would only be suspended for 2 weeks before it’s permanently erased. Hopefully, they will do that shortly.