Enable or disable the feature in Microsoft Outlook 365 that automatically saves your email messages to the Drafts folder. You may like to have this turned on if you want to be able to recover messages that were lost while composing them. It can create a privacy issue though as you may be unaware of the messages that get saved. Change the setting using these simple steps.
Outlook 365 Windows Client
- In Outlook, select the “File” menu, then choose “Options“.
- Select “Mail” on the left pane.
- Check the “Automatically save items that have not been sent after this many minutes:” box to enable saving to the Drafts folder. Uncheck it to disable it. You may optionally want to change the number of minutes or the folder the drafts are saved to within this same setting.
- Select “OK” and you’re done.
Mobile and macOS Versions
macOS, iOS and Android versions of Outlook automatically sync and keep drafts. There is currently no option to turn this feature on or off unfortunately.
Note: This will not have any bearing on the prompt to save your changes that appears when you close a message you are working on.