iTunes: Permanently Disable iPhone, iPad, or iPod Touch Backup Process

The iTunes backup process while syncing takes a large chunk of time when syncing with an Apple device. If you don’t give a hoot about backing up your iPhone, iPad or iPod Touch data, you can permanently disable the backup process in iTunes using these steps.

Windows

  1. Close out of the iTunes application.
  2. Hold the Windows Key and press “R” to bring up the Run dialog box.
  3. Type the following depending on whether you have 32 or 64 it windows:
    • 32-bit: “C:\Program Files\iTunes\iTunes.exe” /setPrefInt AutomaticDeviceBackupsDisabled 1 then press “Enter“.
    • 64-bit: “C:\Program Files (x86)\iTunes\iTunes.exe” /setPrefInt AutomaticDeviceBackupsDisabled 1 then press “Enter“.

When you launch iTunes again, backups for iPhone, iPad and iPod Touch devices will be disabled. If you wish to enable backups again, use the same command as above, but replace the “1” with a “0”.

Note: If you copy and paste this command, you may need to retype the quotes.

OSX

  1. Close iTunes.
  2. Open the “Utilities” folder and launch “Terminal“.
  3. Type “defaults write com.apple.iTunes DeviceBackupsDisabled -bool true” then press “Enter“.

If you wish to enable backups again, use the terminal command defaults write com.apple.iTunes DeviceBackupsDisabled -bool false to turn backups back on.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>