How to Enable or Disable “Prefetch” in Google Chrome

The Prefetch feature in Chrome takes up resources by caching pages you may never go to. You can modify a setting and enable or disable the Prefetch feature as you see fit using this tutorial.

What is Prefetch?

Also known as “prerendering“, the Prefetch feature in Google Chrome will cache pages that are linked on the web page you are currently on. This allows the page to load a bit faster when accessing it.

How to disable Prefetch

1. Click the “Menu” button in the upper-right corner, then select “Settings“.

Google Chrome Menu Settions option 3. Choose the “Show advanced settings…” option.

Google Chrome Show Advanced Settings option

4. Scroll down to the “Privacy” section, then un-check the “Predict network actions to improve page load performance” option to disable Prefetch. Check the box if you wish to enable it.

Chrome Predict network actions option

Comments

  1. Dean Sanderson says

    The information is great but I have a question. When ever I look up a video in youtube then return back to the home page it shows me recommended videos that are similar to what I just watched. How do I erase or remove those videos so when somebody uses the page, they won’t see what I watch?

  2. Diane says

    I cannot load “settings” to change the prefetch feature you suggested. I also get the orange menu icon suggestion I change my sync passphrase, which chrome will not let me do. Please help. Thank you. Diane

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>