Among the many cool features of WhatsApp is one that not too many users know about – the ability to share your location at any given time. This has a variety of uses – letting your loved ones know where you are, sharing the progress of your commute with colleagues and more.
It’s simple – to share your location with someone, simply enter the chat. You can find the option directly next to the message bar. On iOS, tap the plus to the left of your bar and you’ll see an option for Location. On Android, the paperclip icon on the right and also select Location.
You need to give WhatsAll permission to use your location in order to share your location. If you haven’t done so, you can do it now, via your Settings and app permissions.
After tapping on Share live location, you can select the duration – 15 minutes, 1 hour or 8 hours. After that time, the location share will become inactive and nobody will be able to see your location anymore.
While it’s active, the people you shared your location with will be able to view it whenever they tap on the message that is sent.
If you want to stop sharing your location before the time period is up, you can do so by pressing the Stop sharing button under the message that was sent. Your location will also be protected by end-to-end encryption the way other messages are – nobody except for the recipient or recipients will be able to see the location, but they will NOT be able to share it with other people. Only you can do that.