WhatsApp is a great tool for communication but said communication doesn’t always run smoothly. In fact, sometimes it ends in a block – one person blocking the other. While that’s not nice, it can be a good way to put an end to unwanted messages.
If you suspect you may have been blocked by someone, or you want to know whether someone you’ve blocked can tell, there are a few good ways to check. WhatsApp doesn’t specifically alert you or anything when you’ve been blocked, but there are some other ways you can tell.
The most immediately obvious is that you won’t be able to see their last online stamp in the chat (or an indicator of whether they are online). Instead, the top bar of the chat will just show their name.
Another way to tell is by looking at your texts. Any new texts you may have send after they blocked you won’t go through. They will still show one checkmark next to them to show that they are sent, but they will never be received by the other party. Similarly, calls you may place won’t go through.
Tip: If the other person doesn’t have an internet connection, the same thing will happen in regard to messages and calls – one checkmark only, and calls won’t go through. Don’t rely on this exclusively.
You won’t see any more updates to their profile picture. This isn’t a great indicator as you don’t necessarily know when they do or don’t update it, but if they do and they have blocked you, the image won’t change. The existing contact picture won’t disappear, though!