The “Tagging” feature in Skype for Business (formerly known as Lync) is a feature that is normally used to alert a person of a status change so they are notified on when they can discuss a certain issue. Some people abuse the feature though, and use it to monitor the coming and going of employees. Fortunately, you can block tagging on certain contacts and prevent them from doing this. Here’s how.
- Search for the person you don’t want tagging you anymore, or find them in your Contact list.
- Right-click the contact, then choose “Change Privacy Relationship“.
- Choose to set the contact to “External Contact” or “Blocked“.
Either one of these selections will prevent the tagging feature from actually working. The “External Contact” selecting will still allow the person to see your status if they check it and mark you as tagged, but the tagging feature won’t work for them. Marking them as “Blocked” will make it look as though you don’t even exist, and they won’t be able to see you in Skype For Business at all.