iPhone & iPad: Enable/Disable Activation Mode

If you’re setting up an Apple iPhone or iPad for somebody else using your computer, you probably don’t want to be forced to sync it with your iTunes data. You can prevent it from trying to sync by enabling Activation Mode on your computer. Here’s how it’s done in Microsoft Windows and Mac OSX.

Windows

  1. Close out of iTunes.
  2. Hold the Windows Key and press “R” to bring up the Run dialog box.
  3. Type  one of the following based on your version of Windows
    • 32-bit – “C:\Program Files\iTunes\iTunes.exe” /setPrefInt StoreActivationMode 1 then press “Enter“.
    • 64-bit – “C:\Program Files (x86)\iTunes\iTunes.exe” /setPrefInt StoreActivationMode 1 then press “Enter“.

You can check to make sure iTunes is in Activation Mode by clicking Help > About.

iTunes Activation Mode

Once you are finished configuring the iPhone or iPad, you can then turn Activation Mode off by using the same steps as above, except use a “0” after “StoreActivationMode.

Mac OSX

  1. Close iTunes.
  2. Open “Terminal“. It’s located in the “Utilities” folder.
  3. Type “defaults write com.apple.iTunes StoreActivationMode -integer 1

Now you will not be prompted to sync the iPhone with your Mac. If you wish to turn activation mode off, you can use the following command:

defaults write com.apple.iTunes StoreActivationMode

 

Source: iPhone OS Enterprise Deployment Guide

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>