How to Block and Unblock People On Facebook

Want to block somebody from seeing your Facebook profile? Or did you block somebody, then decide that you want them to be a part of your Facebook experience after all? Here’s how to block and unblock people on Facebook.

Desktop Site

Blocking – Option 1

From the profile of the person you wish to block, select the icon with three dots next to the “Message” button, then choose “Block“.

Blocking – Option 2

  1. Login to your Facebook account.
  2. Select the arrow at the upper-right portion of the screen, then choose “Settings“.
  3. Choose “Blocking” on the left pane.
  4. In the “Block users” area, type a “Name” or “Email“, then click “Block” to search. A list of names will appear where you can select “Block“.

Unblocking

If you ever wish to undo a block on a person, simply click the Unblock link next to the name to let the person see your profile again, then click Confirm on the dialog that appears afterwards.

Mobile Site

  1. Select the Menu icon at the upper-left portion of the screen.
  2. Scroll down and select “Account Settings“.
  3. Choose “Blocking“.
  4. Search for a name in the “Type a name or email” field, then select the “Block” button.

You can unblock users in the “Blocked users” section by selecting the “Unblock” button next to the person’s name.

iOS App

  1. Choose the “More” button at the lower-right side of the screen.
  2. Scroll down and select “Settings“.
  3. Choose “Blocking“.
  4. Search for a name in the “Type a name or email” field, then select the “Block” button.

You can unblock users in the “Blocked users” section by selecting the “Unblock” button next to the person’s name.

Android App

  1. Select the Menu icon at the upper-right portion of the screen.
  2. Scroll down and select “Account Settings“.
  3. Select “Blocking“.
  4. Search for a name in the “Type a name or email” field, then select the “Block” button.

You can unblock users in the “Blocked users” section by selecting the “Unblock” button next to the person’s name.

Comments

  1. Susan says

    Hi — I blocked someone on FB (that I thought may have blocked me — yeah, I know, pretty petty… :) ) using their URL. I then decided to unblock them, however, they don’t show up on my list! How do I unblock them if their name doesn’t show? Thanks.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>