How to Deauthorize Computers in iTunes

You can only have 5 computers authorized to listen to your purchased music at a time in iTunes. Eventually, you might have to deauthorize computers so that you can add another computer. Unfortunately, Apple doesn’t give you a way to manage which computers to keep authorized once the computer doesn’t exist anymore. You have to deauthorize them from each computer or all at once and then manually reauthorize them one by one.

Deauthorize one computer

  1. Open “iTunes“.
  2. Select the menu in the upper-left corner, then select “iTunes Store” >  “Deauthorize this computer…“. If you have the Menu Bar enabled, you can select “Store” > “Deauthorize this computer…
  3. Type in your Apple account username and password, then click “Deauthorize“.

Deauthorize all computers

This option is the one you want if you no longer can access a computer that is authorized and you need to deauthorize it. Unfortunately, it’s an “all or nothing” deal when it comes to this and you’ll have to authorize the devices you’re using once you’ve completed these steps.

  1. Open “iTunes” and select the “iTunes Store” on the left pane.
  2. Click on the button in the right corner. This should have your email address on it.
  3. Type in your username and password and click “OK“.
  4. Click “Deauthorize all“.
  5. iTunes deauthorize all optionClick “Deauthorize all computers“.

Authorize one computer

You can reauthorize only the computers you wish to use from iTunes on each computer by selecting Menu > iTunes Store and Authorize Computer.

This post applies to Windows, Linux, and OS X versions of the Apple iTunes software.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>